Log in

Member Login

Getting ready to say good-bye to our retiring board members and welcome to our new!

08 March 2019 1:04 PM | Anonymous member (Administrator)

From left to right John Dawson, Annette Borrows, Lori Forgeron, Minakshi Bagai, Doug Preston, Debbie Samsom, Robert Bryce, Stacey Tyers, Kim Lauritsen, and missing, Christine Willows.

It's a rather melancholy time of year as I prepare to thank and say good-bye to our board members who are leaving the board of directors. Especially this group as we have accomplished so much together in the past few years.  

Those Who Are Leaving & Have Recently Left

John Dawson has served on the board for 8 years and in the demanding position as president for the past 3 years. He has been my partner, mentor, and teacher as I navigated the CEO position after Norma Strachan's retirement in 2016.  Thanks to his leadership, we have had a team of board members who have provided guidance through one of the financially challenging shifts for ASPECT and helped secure our future for many more years.

Annette Borrows has been a clear voice on the board ensuring that inclusive employment stays at the front of mind. She has donated countless hours contributing to an advocacy charter and will be leaving us to focus on her duties as President of the Canadian Association of Supported Employment. 

Minaskshi Bagai, Debbie Samsom, and Robert Bryce -- our finance committee -- have supported the financial challenges of ASPECT as we moved to more efficient operations. Robert has been serving as Treasurer and I thank him for his support and leadership. Sadly, all three board members have been affected by the new WorkBC contract awards and will not be returning.  

Doug Preston, although retired from the sector, has been utilizing his governance expertise and helped navigate the association through the Societies Act Transition, ensuring that we have checks and balances in our policies and procedures. He has acted as Secretary for the association.

Christine Willow has chaired our Personnel Committee and has brought a level of professionalism to my quarterly reviews while making sure that the business plans and budgets were designed for future growth. 

Stacey Tyers, although her time was short on the board, provided guidance based on her years of board governance, providing a deep understanding of how boards make decisions.

The Year Ahead

Thankfully, Lori Forgeron and Kim Lauritsen have volunteered to remain on the board and take on leadership roles as chair of the governance committee and Secretary respectively. Although new at this time last year, both board members have jumped in and provided valuable and informed guidance throughout the year.

The ASPECT AGM will take place on Wednesday, March 13 at the Four Points Sheraton Vancouver Airport Hotel in Richmond.  There we will say good-bye and acknowledge those volunteers leaving.  Pleasejoin us to show your appreciation to these dedicated volunteers for their hard work on your behalf over the years.  With two returning board members, we will welcome 5 new board members who like their predecessors, are also leaders in the sector. At the AGM, the nominees will be voted in to serve their first 2-year term.

On behalf of ASPECT members and myself, thank you to John, Annette, Minakshi, Debbie, Doug, Robert, Stacey, and Christine for their generosity of time, expertise and leadership to ASPECT and the employment sector.

Janet Morris-Reade

300 - 722 Cormorant Street | Victoria, BC | V8W 1P8

Toll Free: 1-888-287-4957
Telephone: 250-382-9675
Email: info@aspect.bc.ca

ASPECT is proud to be a   


Copyright © Association of Service Providers for Employability and 
Career Training

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software